When Dinosaurs Roamed the Earth – Empress of the Sun

empress

This book is the third book in the Everness series, if you haven’t read the first two, stop reading now! 

Empress of the Sun is the third novel in Ian McDonald’s impressive Everness series. It dawned on me as I neared the end of book 2, that my assumption that this was a trilogy was incorrect. Since the author had gone to the trouble to create a billion universes, he can write as many stories as he wants in them. And so it is. By the end of this book, there is nothing resolved, no closure. Just more great storytelling and first class speculation.

I must confess this is probably my least favourite of the three, but it’s hard to put my finger on why. As I thought the first two almost peerless in their brilliance, this is not necessarily much of a criticism. Empress of the Sun is just very very good, rather than exceptional (please don’t ask me how this scale works).  The central premise of the new world discovered by Everett is tremendous. What if the dinosaurs never died out?

This is hardly a new premise. It’s the idea behind countless B-Movies and pulp fiction paperbacks, but I’ve never seen anybody do what McDonald has done with it. If T-Rex never died out, his descendants have had 65 million years to evolve. What we have here is solar system occupied by uber-advanced dinosaurs. Extremely hostile uber advanced dinosaurs.

This new system is fascinating, and the story that plays out in it strong. The overall story arc continues, but not that strongly and I think that might be why I didn’t enjoy this book quite as much as the others.

The Everness series is a fascinating panoply of what-might-bes. It’s imaginative fiction at its finest. Nominally a YA series, really it’s a set books for anybody who likes science fiction of the highest calibre. There are no more Everness books obvious on the horizon, but I certainly hope it’s a series that runs and runs.

Many thanks to Andrew at Jo Fletcher Books for sending me a copy of this book 

Leave a Reply

